The “Aha” Moment in Adult Education Trends

The Aha moment for myself when reading the two different articles on adult education trends has to do with Game-based learning. I never thought of education as necessarily something that could be made to be fun or enjoyable. When I went to school, it always felt like something that I had to do more than something I wanted to do. As an adult, my opinion of education has changed to something I now want to do and more importantly realize its something that employers require from their employees.

When I read different articles on Game-based learning I realized that this form of adult education is not just for the classroom,  but now commonly used by companies to get more productivity and competitiveness out of their employees. This type of learning happens without the participants even being aware that it is happening. Learning can happen simply by participating. The use of cell phones and tablets has become so mainstream that these games can be continually updated live. This allows for continual participation whether you are a competitive person or not. The more enjoyable a company is to work for, the better their employee retention will become.

Leave a comment